top of page

So What Do You Really Know About Braids?


I have always loved braids and cornrows. I remember reading a book as a little girl called Cornrows and of course, I loved it. Even now, as a Mother myself, I am obsessed with books about hair for my daughter (at least she's the reason I give others). I do realize that it is even more important now than ever before for my daughter to understand the significance of braids and cornrows in our culture. Well, this is the perfect month to learn a little bit about this seemingly intrinsic gift of applying art to the tops of our heads. So let's start at the beginning...

Now we know that braids are not a new style, but did you realize that it dates all the way back to 3500 bc in Ancient Africa? Yo!! That's a long time for a style to remain current. How can you get more classic than that? Braids at that time were not just about fashion, but also signified age, religious beliefs, familial ties and more. You could literally look at a woman's head and know way too much. Lol!!

Egyptian braids date back to 3100BC and were worn by men and women alike. Now before someone tries to play with my blog post, YES EGYPT IS IN AFRICA! But, the ways of Africans vary greatly depending on the country. While we know Egyptians have been wearing human hair extensions for at least 3000 years, the OvaHimba people of Namibia still use clay, goat hair and butter to make their hair extensions. These styles take hours but protect their hair.

The Greeks began braiding their hair in the first century bc, as they had close ties with Egypt. It's amazing how you can go to war with a country and still indulge in cultural appopriation. Sound familiar? You'd imagine they'd want nothing to do with them, but they couldn't help but to see and emulate their beauty.

Today, people in many parts of the world braid or mold their hair. One of the bulkiest, but probably the most sentimental hair fixtures I have seen are worn by the Chinese Long-Horn Maio women. They literally use their ancestors' hair to make their heads resemble horns. When doing this for certain special occasions they can have generations of ancestors in their head at one time!! They also keep the hair that sheds during combing.

One of my favorite hair sculpturalists come out of Kenya. The Maasai people have fascinated me for YEARS!! I am so in love with the fact that as hunter/gatherers they must still be fly at all times. And men, I grew up hearing that African men don't have long hair. Well check this out!!

Not only do these men have hair, but they wear some of the most beautiful headpeices and trust me when I say they are fierce warriors. In fact, they have been called the one of the worlds last great warrior cultures. But having their hair kept is something that can't be put on the back burner.

Today, braids are worn all over the world by people who hate the very people who originated this cultural icon. However, the roots of cornrows and braids can never be uprooted. Yes I love all things having to do with hair, but this particular style, these beautiful, rich, iconic braids will always hold a place in my heart because I realize that they tie me to something much greater than anything else does. I hope you understand why I love them so much now too!! Until next time...

I am now an affiliate for Nicki's Diapers!! These are the same diapers I have used on my son since birth, so it is a product that I am very excited about! Don't miss out in lavishing your child in softness while saving thousands in the process! Shop Nicki's now (click the picture below).


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page